I wrote this piece to say goodbye to Banff.

Thank you to this beautiful place for keeping me quiet for a year and giving me the space to study, compose, play music and to come back to myself again after a little over four hectic, unquiet years working for Cirque du Soleil. I am grateful to have had the time to hike in these incredible mountains and breathe fresh, clean air.

Thank you to everybody here who smiled at me, spoke with me, and welcomed me. Monica and Carolyn for being good friends and taking my hand in these sometimes challenging times. Jessa, thank you for talking about music with me. I don’t know what I would have done without the support and mentorship from two amazing people, Robert P. and Violaine – thank you, thank you, thank you, you both helped me stay sane; thank you for your wisdom and teaching (and thank you to skype!). Most of all, my biggest thanks to Andrew who stood by me, supported me, and helped me to find a new home in Canada (for the moment). Now it’s time to move to the city and rejoin the rat race.

Composition, lyrics, recorders (Paetzold contra bass, bass, tenors, ganassi in G), vocals, sump pipe, Futujara, and mixing – Racheal Cogan.

Lyrics:

goodbye, goodbye, goodbye, goodbye

i will wander

i will wander forever

forever, forever, forever, forever

i have no home

no place, no place is home

 it’s inside me

forever, forever, forever, forever

the wind blows through me

forever, forever, forever, forever

goodbye coyote, goodbye elk, goodbye friends

thank you thank you thank you thank you

fare thee well

